Review of “Steadfast Love” by Lauren Chandler

Let me sum this book review up in one word and get right to the point: YES.

Like, I mean buy it right now without second guessing anything in the world.

slove

(Click book to purchase in a new window.)

And if you follow me on Twitter, you know fully well that I have thoroughly enjoyed this book because I have stopped to tweet quotes in just about every chapter.

I have talked previously about not loving books that are in a different color font because I have terrible eyes and kind of hate wearing glasses.   So I’m not sure if it’s the book or the fact that I got new glasses, but I kind of loved that this book was written in blue.  It gave it a little dash of uniqueness.

As for the book itself, to be very honest I have struggled a little recently with books written by very influential Christian women because a majority of them do teach so much good about the Lord and His Word, but they are primarily focused on being a wife and a mom.  Neither of which roles I find myself in.  So when a book goes on and on about picking up that next sacred piece of laundry behind your kids, I tend to close it.  And Lauren began in the first chapter talking about her kids and her family and I felt my defense mechanism start to flare up, but then in the very next paragraph she was using words I had to Google to know the meaning of and by the next page was diving deeply into Biblical Truth that was so transformative.

“Maybe there’s a part of you that feels neglected by the Lord.  If He would just come through with this one thing, you’d know He loves you.  What if receiving that one thing would tighten your grip on the idol instead of stirring your heart toward the Lord?”

So Lauren continues throughout Steadfast Love to talk about the “false anchors” we are so inclined to find our security in and how the Lord’s steadfast love is so faithful to step in for us when those inadequate anchors, and inadequate gods really fall short.  I’ve been learning so much about this idea of how we all have needs (and it is completely okay and normal to have needs) but the issue is how and with whom/what we meet them with.

Lauren weaves so many passages of Scripture and pieces of her story into explaining this principle so well that God is the very best thing for us.

“We think we know what we want, what we need.  We think that what we have planned will squeeze the greatest amount of joy from our lives.  But the Lord knows what’s best.  He is what’s best.  So that storm that seems so inconvenient, so intrusive, so destructive might very well be the Lord establishing something longer lasting, more fulfilling than what your heart could conceive.”

And I was so touched by her authenticity every step of the way of struggling with vulnerability in community as a wife to a renowned pastor (Matt Chandler), with doubting her purpose or avenues to fulfill it, with a husband walking through cancer, and with many miscarriages.

So my list of people to purchase this book for:

  • People going through a hard time
  • People struggling with addiction
  • People who have just gone through a hard break up
  • Men
  • Women
  • People who are breathing

Needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will probably start back at the beginning tomorrow.


Have you read Steadfast Love?  What are your thoughts?

Do you have some favorite books/blogs that touch on the same topics?

Leave a Reply

